Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show Links

Electric Providers


Lexington County is served by three electric companies serving different areas of the county.  All provide affordable, reliable electric power to Lexington County residents and businesses.


South Carolina Electric & Gas (SCE&G)


SCE&GServing the Batesburg-Leesville, Cayce, Gaston, Gilbert, Irmo, Lexington, Swansea, and West Columbia areas of Lexington County.


South Carolina Electric & Gas, a SCANA Corporation subsidiary, provides electric service to residential and business customers throughout a large section of Lexington County. As part of SCANA, SCE&G is part of an $8 billion regional provider of energy and related services. SCE&G serves over half a million residential, commercial and industrial customers in South Carolina.


For information on outages please visit the SCE&G Outage Map. To report an outage please call 1-888-333-4465.


Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative (MCEC)


Mid-Carolina Electric distributes electricity in Lexington, Richland, Saluda, Aiken and Newberry Counties. Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative, Inc. (MCEC) is a not-for-profit electric distribution utility headquartered in Lexington, South Carolina. The coop is owned by more than 40,000 customers - member-owners - who reside in Lexington, Richland, Newberry, Saluda and Aiken Counties. MCEC is the fifth largest of the twenty electric cooperatives in South Carolina. Together these cooperatives serve more than 500,000 members in over 70% of the state.

To report an outage please call 1-888-813-7000. 


Tri-County Electric Cooperative


With a service area that includes Gaston and sections of Lexington County, Tri-County Electric Cooperative is one of 20 non-profit, consumer-owned electric distribution systems serving the rural and suburban areas of South Carolina. It was organized by people in Calhoun County after many years of attempting to get other power suppliers to provide electric service to their sparsely populated rural areas.


Tri-County Electric Cooperative, Inc., based in St. Matthews, South Carolina, was chartered in 1940. Today, there are 67 employees serving over 17,000 consumers with 2,500 miles of line. The main office is located on Highway 176 near St. Matthews with two district offices located in Santee and Eastover. Parts of six counties are served by Tri-County - Calhoun, Orangeburg, Richland, Lexington, Kershaw and Sumter Counties. To report an outage please call 803-874-1215.