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If you are considering a move to South Carolina or have
been a resident here for years, you may have many
questions about the tax structure in this state. This
brochure explains the major state and local taxes, such
as income, property and sales taxes, and a few other
taxes with which you should be aware. For more specific
information, call or visit one of the South Carolina
Department of Revenue offices listed in this publication
or visit the agency's website at www.sctax.org.

South Carolina has a simplified income tax structure
which follows the federal income tax laws. South
Carolina accepts the adjustments, exemptions and
deductions allowed on your federal return with few
modifications. Your federal taxable income is the starting
point in determining your state income tax liability.

Income Tax

Deductions

You do not pay a capital gains tax in this state on
property sold in another state. Federal rules
governing the exclusion of capital gains realized on
the sale of a personal residence also apply in
South Carolina.

Beginning with the first year you receive qualified
retirement income and until you turn 65, you may
take an annual deduction of up to $3,000. You
may take this deduction for income received from
any qualified retirement plan, such as IRAs,
government pension plans, Keough plans and
private sector pensions. If both spouses receive
retirement income, each spouse is entitled to an
individual deduction. At age 65, retirees may take a
deduction of up to $10,000 from retirement income.

All residents at age 65 are eligible for a
deduction of up to $15,000 from income,
regardless of the source. The $15,000 deduction
must be offset by any other retirement deduction
that is claimed. Each spouse may claim the
retirement deduction if each is receiving income
from a qualified retirement plan.

Income received from National Guard or armed
forces reserve pay for the customary annual
training period and weekend drill is exempt from
tax.

Disability income from a permanent and total
disability is deductible.

Social Security benefits are not taxed in South
Carolina.

A deduction is allowed for each child under the
age of 6. The deduction is 100% of the federal
personal exemption, which is adjusted each year
for inflation.

A deduction is allowed for a special needs
adopted child.

Interest you receive from federal obligations is
deductible.

Credits

Income tax credits which may lower your South
Carolina tax liability are:

A deduction is allowed for net capital gains held for
two years or longer. The deduction is 44%, making
the effective tax rate 3.9% as compared to the top
rate of 7% on all other income. For tax years
beginning after 2000, the South Carolina holding
period is the same as the federal.

A tuition tax credit allows a 25% credit for tuition
paid to South Carolina public and private
colleges. The maximum credit is $850 per year
for four-year schools and $350 per year for
two-year schools. The person who pays the
tuition may take the credit. You must take at
least 30 credit hours per year to qualify for the
tuition tax credit.



A two-wage earner credit allows married couples to
take a maximum credit of $210 if both spouses
work.

You are allowed a maximum credit of $300 for
payments made for nursing home care or
intermediate nursing care provided in the home for
yourself or another individual.

A credit is allowed for income taxes paid to another
state on income which is taxable in both states.

A child and dependent care credit allows you to
claim 7% of your federal allowable expenses for
the care of a child or elderly person.

Estimated Tax

Estimated tax is the method you use to pay tax on
income that is not subject to withholding. This
includes income from self-employment, interest,
dividends, alimony, rent, capital gains and prizes. You
also may have to pay estimated tax if enough tax is
not being withheld from your salary, pension or other
income. Estimated tax is paid in quarterly installments
on April 15, June 15, September 15 and January 15.

Filing Returns

Generally, you are required to file a South Carolina
income tax return if you are required to file a federal
return or if you have South Carolina tax withheld from
your wages. Individual income tax returns are due
April 15 of each year, but if you file your state return
electronically, you have until May 1 to file without
incurring a penalty. The May 1 deadline does not
apply to federal income tax returns.

You may file your South Carolina tax return in several
ways: 

Electronic filing using a professional tax preparer
On-line filing over the Internet using available
commercial software
SCNetFile using the DOR website
Paper returns.

Property Tax

Counties, cities and school districts are authorized to
impose ad valorem taxes on real and personal
property. The local government assesses and collects
the property tax under the direction and assistance of
the Department of Revenue. Property tax dollars
support public schools and the services local
governments provide.

Residential Property

The market value of a legal residence and up to five
acres of surrounding land is assessed at 4% of fair
market value. The millage rate of the local
government is then applied to the assessed value
resulting in the tax liability. The millage rate is set by
local governments and varies widely throughout the
state.

The first $100,000 in fair market value of a primary
residence is exempt from school operating taxes.

Additions to Income

Certain items of income must be added back to
your federal taxable income for South Carolina
purposes.

Any out-of-state losses and interest income from
obligations other than those in South Carolina, if
these items were subtracted on your federal return,
must be added back to your taxable income on the
state income tax return.

The deduction on your federal income tax return for
state income tax paid must be added back to your
taxable income on your state income tax return, but
it is offset by your state refund amount if you
claimed it as income on your federal return.

Tax Rates

Individual income tax rates range from 2.5% to a top rate
of 7% on taxable income. Tax brackets are adjusted
annually for inflation. Beginning in tax year 2006, the tax
rate on active trade on business income received by the
owner of a pass-through business is 6.5%. This rate will
be lowered by .5% each year until it reaches 5% for tax
years beginning after 2008.

Part-Year Residents

If you moved into South Carolina during the year, you
are a part-year resident. As a part-year resident, you
may consider yourself a full-year resident or a
nonresident. If you choose to be a full-year resident, you
claim all your income as though you were a resident for
the entire year and take a credit for taxes you paid in
another state. If you choose to be a nonresident, report
only the income you earned in South Carolina. Your
deductions and exemptions will be prorated by the same
percentage as your South Carolina income compares to
your total income. You may choose the method which
benefits you best. You may need to complete the return
both ways to determine which is best.



(Generally speaking, school operating taxes comprise
about 70% of the total tax bill. Contact your county tax
assessor for help in determining your property tax
liability based on the exemption from school operating
taxes.)

If you have established a one-year residency and you
are 65 or older, legally blind or permanently and totally
disabled, you are eligible for a homestead exemption of
$50,000 from the value of your home. 

The assessment ratio on a second home or vacation
home is 6%. The property tax relief does not apply to a
second home.

To find out more about the tax on real estate, call the
assessor in the county where you live or plan to relocate.

Vehicle Property Taxes

Personal property tax is collected annually on cars,
recreational vehicles, boats and airplanes, based on
values set forth in Department of Revenue publications.  

For tax year 2007, passenger motor vehicles and pickup
trucks are assessed at 6%. The local millage rate is
applied to the assessed value to determine the tax due.

For information about personal property tax on cars,
trucks, boats, RVs and airplanes, call the auditor's office
in the county where you plan to live.

Sales and Use Tax

South Carolina's sales and use tax rate increases to
6%, June 1, 2007. In certain counties, a local option
sales and use tax of 1% is imposed in addition to the 6%
state rate. Counties and cities also may impose local
sales taxes for road improvements, capital projects and
other purposes. Most local taxes require voter approval.
The sales tax rate on unprepared food is 3%.

Prescriptions, dental prosthetics and hearing aids are
exempt from the sales tax. Those over 85 years of age
are exempt from 1% of the sales tax.

A maximum sales tax of $300 is imposed on the
purchase of motor vehicles, including recreational
vehicles, boats, motorcycles and airplanes.

tax can be reported on your SC1040 income tax
return. All 45 states which have a sales tax also have
and enforce the use tax in much the same way.

Motor Fuel Tax

Each gallon of gasoline and diesel fuel purchased in
South Carolina is taxed at 16 cents. This tax is
included in the price per gallon of gasoline at the
pump.

Vehicle Registration

You have 45 days after moving to South Carolina to
register your vehicle in this state. If you live in this
state only part of the year and consider another state
your home residence, you are still required to register
your car in this state if you will be living in South
Carolina for 180 days or more. The title fee is $15 and
the registration fee is $24 every two years for a
passenger vehicle. Drivers 65 years old or older pay a
reduced registration fee of $20 every two years. The
fee is $22 every two years for 64-year-olds. Contact
the nearest office of the Department of Motor Vehicles
for more information.

Driver's License

If you move to South Carolina, your driver's license
from your former state is valid in South Carolina for 90
days. Before the 90-day period expires, new residents
must visit one of the Department of Motor Vehicles
branch offices to obtain a South Carolina driver's
license.

A driver's license is $25 and is renewable every ten
years on your birthday. Beginner permit applicants
must be 15 years old and must pass a vision test and
a written test on driving skills. The fee is $2 for the
written test. The beginner's permit is $2.50 and is
valid for one year. Applicants must hold a beginners's
permit for 180 days before they can apply for a
drivers's license.

The Department of Revenue strongly enforces the use
tax on purchases made out-of-state when no sales tax
has been paid. If you purchase goods from the internet,
mail-order catalogs, television shopping networks or
other out-of-state businesses and did not pay sales tax,
you must report and pay 5% use tax (6% or 7% if you
live in a local option county) in South Carolina. The use

Opening a New Business

If you plan to open a new business in South Carolina,
check out South Carolina Business One Stop
(DORBOS) at the Department of Revenue website for
business registration, licensing and renewals.
DORBOS allows online registration and renewals with
DOR and the South Carolina Employment Security
Commission. From DOR's website, you can also link
to the state website, mySCgov.com, and obtain
information, forms and contacts from federal, state
and local agencies which you will need to start your
new business.



(803) 898-5872
(803) 898-5709
1-800 768-3676
(803) 898-5709
(803) 896-8623
(803) 898-5788
(803) 898-5383

Let us hear from you. Send your comments and
suggestions to:

        Public Affairs Office
        SC Department of Revenue
        PO Box 125
        Columbia SC 29214

or www.sctax.org
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Taxpayer Service Centers

3 Southpark Circle, Suite 202
Charleston, S.C.  29407 
(843) 852-3600 
(843) 556-1780 (FAX) 

Columbia Mill Building
301 Gervais Street
Columbia, S.C.  29201
(803) 898-5000

1452 W. Evans Street
PO Box 5418
Florence, S.C.  29502
(843) 661-4850
(843) 662-4876 (FAX)

211 Century Drive, Suite 210-B
Greenville, S.C.  29607
(864) 241-1200
(864) 232-5008 (FAX)

South Park Village
1330 Howard Parkway
Myrtle Beach, SC  29577

Business and Technology Center
454 S. Anderson Rd., Suite 202
PO Box 12099
Rock Hill, S.C.  29731
(803) 324-7641
(803) 324-8289 (FAX)

Charleston 

Columbia

Florence

Greenville

Myrtle Beach

Rock Hill

Estate Tax

South Carolina follows federal rules regarding the
taxation of estates. The tax due is the amount claimed
as a state credit on the federal estate return. An
estate left to the deceased person's spouse is not
subject to tax.


