
In the state of South Carolina, there are several legal grounds for disqualification, exemption or excuse from jury 
duty.  The following show the legal allowances in each category: 
 

DISQUALIFICATIONS: (§14-7-810, §14-7-820) 
You may not serve as a juror: if you have been convicted in any state or federal court of a crime punishable by 
more than one year: or if you are unable to read, write, speak, or understand the English language; or if you are 
unable to render jury service due to mental or physical infirmity; or if you have less than a 6th grade (or 
Equivalent) education; or if you are a Lexington County Officer or Lexington County Court Employee. 

 
EXEMPTIONS: (§14-7-840) 
“No person is exempt from service as a juror in any court of this State except persons over sixty five years of age.  
A person exempt under this section may be excused upon telephone confirmation of date of birth and age to the 
court clerk or magistrate.” 

 
EXCUSES: (§14-7-860) 
You may be excused from jury service if you can show good legal and sufficient excuse, by application, as to why 
you should not serve (supportive documentation may be required); or if you are a woman with legal custody of 
children under the age of seven years and you show by affidavit that you cannot provide adequate care while 
serving as a juror. 

 
POSTPONEMENT: (§22-2-85, §14-7-845) 
A student or school employee selected for jury service during the school term may request a postponement to a 
date that does not conflict with the school term. For purposes of these sections, a student is a person enrolled in a 
high school or institution of higher learning to include a technical college.  

 
 
 
If you fall within the Disqualification, Exemption, Excuse, or Postponement category, you must appear 
personally before this court prior to the term of the court to file a written affidavit showing good legal and 
sufficient cause why you should not be required to serve. Persons over the age of sixty-five may telephone in 
lieu of personal appearance.  
 
FAILURE TO COMPLY: (§22-2-130, §22-3-950) 
South Carolina law permits the Magistrate to punish any properly summoned prospective juror who fails 
to respond to the summons. If the disobedient juror fails to properly contact the Magistrate and offer a 
sufficient reason for his delinquency with in 48 hours, a civil fine of up to $100.00 may be imposed.  
Should the disobedient juror fail or refuse the civil penalty, the Magistrate may hold the person in 
contempt subject to penalties of a fine not to exceed $500.00 or imprisonment of not more than thirty days 
(30) or both.   
 
 


