
Subpoenas  
    

SECTION 22-3-930 of the South Carolina Code of Laws provides:  
  

"Any magistrate, on the application of a party to a cause pending before 
the magistrate, must issue a summons citing any person whose testimony 
may be required in the cause and who resides in the county to appear 
before the magistrate at a certain time and place to give evidence. This 
summons must be served in a manner such that it is received by the 
witness at least one day before his attendance is required. If the witness 
fails or refuses to attend, the magistrate may issue a rule to show cause 
commanding the witness to be brought before the magistrate or, if any 
witness attending refuses to give evidence without good cause shown, the 
magistrate may punish the witness for contempt by imposition of a 
sentence up to the limits imposed on magistrates' courts in Section 22-3-
550."  

SECTION 22-3-940 of the South Carolina Code of Laws provides:  

"In case it shall appear to the satisfaction of any magistrate that the 
attendance of any witness whose testimony may be required in any case 
before him cannot be had (a) by reason of (i) extreme age, (ii) sickness or 
infirmity or (iii) indispensable absence on public official duty, (b) in 
consequence of intended removal from the State before the cause can be 
otherwise ready for trial or (c) when such witness may be resident in 
another county or without the limits of the State, such magistrate may take 
the examination of such witness in writing or cause it to be done by 
another magistrate or other officer authorized by law to administer oaths, 
to be used in evidence on the trial of the case. But the parties to such 
cause shall have notice thereof in time to be present if they or either 
should choose to be present or notice may be given by either party to the 
other of interrogatories to be propounded to such witness, with four days' 
time given the party notified to prepare cross-interrogatories, upon which 
interrogatories and cross-interrogatories, when preferred by the parties or 
either of them, the deposition shall be had. When such examination is so 
made by another, it shall be sealed up, with the title of the case endorsed, 
and conveyed by a disinterested person to the magistrate authorizing it or 
mailed and the postage prepaid."  
  

The court cannot issue a subpoena until a court date and time has been set for the 
trial.  Once you are notified of a court date, you may obtain a subpoena for your 
witness(es)  by then contacting the court and supplying it with the name(s) and 
address(es) of your witness(es) and the trial date and time of your case.  This needs 
to be done immediately after you are notified of your trial date in order to provide the 
court with the adequate time necessary to have the witness(es) served with the 
subpoena(s).  There is no fee for obtaining subpoenas in criminal and traffic cases.  



There is an $8.00 fee for each subpoena prepared and served for civil cases.  Also, 
you are obligated to pay $25 per day plus mileage at the rate of 34.5 cents per mile 
for all witnesses subpoenaed to testify in civil cases.   

 


