Procurement Frequently Asked Questions
What are the payment terms on invoices?
Payments will be made within thirty (30) days after acceptance of completed order/project.
Early payment discount, if available, will be calculated from date of acceptance.
What is the County’s bidding procedures?
Requesting Department submits specifications to Procurement.
- Procurement mails bid to vendor list and advertises bid on SCBO, Demandstar, and the County website.
- Vendor must submit Bidder Schedule with completed prices, Certificate of Familiarity, W-9, and Vendor Application in a sealed envelope.
- Procurement opens bid and submits copies to end user for review.
- Statement of Award and Bid Tabulation is issued both in the mail to the vendors and listed on our website after department recommendation (7-10 days).
- If the recommended bid amount is over $25,000.00, the purchase must be approved by County Council.
- After approval, contract or purchase order or contract is issued to vendor.
What are the other purchasing options?
- Sole Source with Justification - Sole source purchases are goods and services available from only one supplier. There may be just one vendor because of patents or copyrights or simply because the vendor is the only one which supplies the good or service. These purchases are exempt from the standard bidding requirement. The County may be required to certify that only one supplier is available.
- Request for Proposal - A department will request a product or service it needs, and solicit proposals from prospective contractors on how they intend to carry out that request, and at what price.
- IFQ (Invitation for Qualifications - Professional Services are those master planning, planning, environmental, real estate acquisition, pre-construction and other construction related services associated with the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, interior design, and Construction Management.
Purchases under $1,500.00 are made by a department submitting a purchase requisition that they deem a fair and reasonable cost.
Purchases between $1,501.00 and $4,999.99 need 3 verbal telephone quotes prior to being submitted to Procurement.
Purchases between $5,000.00 and $14,999.99 need 3 written quotes prior to being submitted to Procurement.
Purchases of $15,000.00 and up must follow the competitive sealed bid process. A purchase that is $25,000.00 over will have to be presented to County Council.
Do we give preference to County of Lexington or South Carolina residents?
The County only gives preference to Lexington County residents in the case of a tied bid.
What days are checks mailed out?
Checks are mailed out from the County every Friday. What are the County’s payment terms?
Payments will be made within thirty (30) days after acceptance of completed order/project. Early payment discount, if available, will be calculated from date of acceptance.
Return to Top
What are the County’s minimum insurance requirements?
As required by the State of South Carolina.
COMPREHENSIVE GENERAL LIABILITY
$1,000,000 Single Limit
$ 100,000 Combined
All Owned, Non-Owned, and Hired
Are bid and performance bonds required for all solicitations?
Bid and performance bonds will be necessary if stated in the bid document.
How can I access bid results and tabulations?
Bid results and tabulations are posted together in the award section of the Procurement website.
Does the County use a up-to-date vendor list?
The County is in the process of revising the current vendor list. Please check the Procurement website for current solicitations.
How does the County dispose of surplus items?
The County currently auctions those items at www.govdeals.com, http://www.jmwood.com/, and https://www.rawlsautoauction.com/.
Return to Top
What if my bid is late?
Any late bids will not be taken into consideration during the evaluation process. All late bids will be mailed back to the vendor.
What if bid number is not marked on the envelope?
All bids must be submitted in a sealed envelope with the bid number CLEARLY marked on the outside of the envelope prior to the deadline. Any bids that do not meet these criteria will be returned.
When should I submit a vendor application?
A vendor must complete “Vendor Application” and “W-9” forms prior to being awarded a bid.
Does the County pay sales tax?
Yes, but the tax is not included in a base bid price. We will add taxes after the bids are awarded.
Can a contracted vendor employ illegal immigrants?
In accordance with the South Carolina Illegal Immigration Reform Act, 2008, Act No. 280. Section 3 of this Act added to Chapter 14 to Title 8 of the South Carolina Code of Laws prohibits covered persons from entering into covered contracts unless the contractor agrees either (a) to verify all new employees through the federal work authorization program [and requires the same from subcontractors and sub-subcontractors] or (b) to employ only qualifying workers. Effectively, the Act also requires contractors to agree to provide any documentation required to establish either (a) that the Act does or does not apply to the contractor, subcontractor, or sub-subcontractor; or (b) that the contractor, and any subcontractor or sub-subcontractor, are in compliance with Section 3 of the Act.”
How can I apply to the County Wrecker Rotation Service?
A new rotation list will be created each fiscal year (July 1 through June 30). Copies of each wrecker application may be requested from Procurement starting on March 1 of that fiscal year. A wrecker service desiring to be on the rotation list in the next year must apply in writing by May 1st and be inspected and qualified prior to June 30th. On June 30th of each year the County of Lexington will publish the wrecker rotation list to be effective July 1st.
Return to Top