Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show Links

Public Works - Transportation


 General Information


The Transportation Division provides the labor, equipment, and materials necessary to maintain the County’s dirt and paved roads, storm water facilities, and open and closed drainage systems. The Division consists of four district maintenance crews, two drainage crews, two special project crews, one pavement crew, and a sign shop crew.  The County is divided into four maintenance districts: Lexington L1, Swansea L2, Batesburg L3, and Chapin L4.




·         Maintain earth roads by scraping, providing proper drainage, and adding stone as needed

·         Perform bridge repairs

·         Construct and repair drainage basins and ditches

·         Control road-side vegetation

·         Construction on Capital Improvement projects

·         Asphalt repair and patching

·         Manufactures and installs street names signs and traffic control signs

·         Maintain Stormwater Management Ponds / Facilities





Lexington District 1


Neal Bickley

440 Ball Park Road

Lexington, SC  29072


Swansea District 2Albert Tobias

538 Martin Neese Road

Swansea, SC  29160


Batesburg District 3Bruce Waters

740 South Lee Street

Leesville, SC  29070


Chapin District 4Ricky Derrick

199 Murray Lindler Road

Chapin, SC  29036



Click on the photo to see a slideshow.