Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Public Works

Public Works Online Service Request

Lexington County Floodplain Management Plan(PDF) 

General Information

The Department of Public Works consists of four divisions: Engineering; Transportation; Stormwater; and Vector Control, comprising of approximately ninety-five employees and an administrative office with a staff of four, including the Director.

The mission of the department is to provide and maintain a safe, cost effective infrastructure for public transportation that enhances the quality of life in Lexington County.

The Department of Public Works is responsible for:

  • Maintenance of 627± miles of County dirt roads
  • Maintenance of 626± miles of County paved roads
  • Design and inspection of County roadway projects
  • Management of County owned construction projects
  • Review of commercial and residential development plans
  • Compliance with NPDES Storm Water permit requirements
  • Floodplain Management
  • Maintenance of 300± Stormwater Management facilities
  • Acquisition of required right of way for County projects
  • Encroachment permits
  • Limiting the insects that transport disease pathogens

Quick Links to Forms

Related Links